Brad Miller

God and government don’t mix

In True nature of the State on July 22, 2011 at 1:02 am

Today I’m writing in response to a posting on a radio talk show host’s blog, which advocated reading a prayer before any government proceedings. I don’t agree and here’s why.

The Government ignores any sense of morality on a daily basis. If you use the ten commandments and Jesus’ summation of the Law as your standard then you will see how God and Government have nothing in common. In fact in my opinion they are total opposites. One values violence and coercion and the other free will and love.

Government violates two of the commandments in the Decalogue “Thou Shalt not Steal”and “Thou Shalt not Covet”, just with the taking in and spending of taxpayer money.  This is a system where money is “stolen” from some and given to others who “covet” their wealth. I think Bastiat summed it up best with his definition of government :”Government is the great  fiction, through which everybody endeavors to live at the expense of everybody else.”

The next commandment the politicians and bureaucrats break on a daily basis is self-explanatory “Thou shalt not bear false witness”. I know shocking, people in Government lie. But what amazes me is not that they lie, they have to in order to do what they do, but that we so easily accept this as unacceptable behavior?

Government also kills innocent people on a regular basis. Whether its innocent folks killed by bombs in Libya or by police bullets in a botched drug raid. So Government violates a fourth Commandment “Thou Shalt not Murder”.  The death penalty too, a function of the State has killed innocent individuals as well. Government action is based on the threat of or the actual use of lethal force.

Like George Washington warned, “Government is force and it is  …”a fearful master”.

If you want to bring the debate into the New Testament we can. Government is unable to adhere to Jesus’ teachings; which to me boil down to the Golden Rule and treating others as you would have them treat you. Simple. But again as we have seen Government is designed from the outset to Deceive, Steal, and Kill. So it is obvious that government and God do not mix. It kills me to hear politicians ask God to “bless” legislative proceedings. How ridiculous is that?  Its like a bank robber praying to God for a lot of cash to be in the vault  right before he enters a bank.

And it doesn’t matter what level of government we are talking about. I went to a Clayton County Commissioner’s meeting on Tuesday and a sheriff’s deputy said a prayer before the meeting. I did not bow my head. I refuse to pray with an agent of the State who is there to protect the Commissioners from the citizens and not to protect us from them, who are stealing from us. At the meeting they were taking comments on a 34.18% property tax hike. The meeting was pure theatre and the commissioners were arrogant and annoyed they had to even hear our opposition. They had already made up their mind to vote for the increase and nothing we said mattered.

I don’t see how God has anything to do with those who lie, steal and kill for a living. Prayer and relationship with God is an individual matter and should not in any way be co-opted by the State. That to me is the true meaning of  Separation of Church and State.

For me I try to live by the principles of the Golden Rule, peaceful coexistence with others and using only defensive force advocated by the Bible but no government can, by the very nature of what government is, embody these virtues. Only individuals can.

I believe we need more not “we need to do this or that” but more I will do this or that.” I don’t endeavor to tell anyone how to live. For Me I believe that Maximum Personal Liberty is the best way to enjoy the time we have here on Earth and the best way to become who we choose to be. God gave us Free Will. The question is: Why do we so easily cede to government that most precious gift from God?

And that’s my take,

Bastiat1776

Advocate Of Liberty

Tomorrow I’ll fill you in on my reasons why I’ll never say the pledge of allegiance again.

Leave a Reply

