Brad Miller

Advocate of Liberty

In True nature of the State on July 20, 2011 at 12:49 am

The purpose of this blog is to advocate for the cause of Liberty. I will deal with the big ideas of Individualism vs. Collectivism and Liberty vs. Coercion. I believe in the Freedom Philosophy which was summed up best by Leonard Read, as simply “anything peaceful”.

The growth of government to me is the biggest threat to individual liberty. And the growth of government at all levels has been staggering over the course of the last twenty years, from the Federal level on down to the State, County and City. It seems like there is no end to the strangling regulations and the oppressive taxes that these politicians and bureaucrats can saddle us with. Sometimes it feels like the forces of Tyranny are winning and the cause of Liberty is lost.

The cause of Liberty is far from lost and in fact I believe there is reason to hope. This is because as the size of the coercive collectivist State grows so does the number of those who recognize that only when people are free can they truly flourish. Thanks to sites like Mises.org, Lewrockwell.com, Fee.org, and Onlinelibraryofliberty there are more articles and books accessible to anyone looking to understand the Freedom Philosophy then ever before in the history of the world.

I am an advocate of Liberty because I want to have the maximum amount of control over my own life. Liberty is choice. Government interference in my life is anti-choice. The two can not coexist.

I do not know what course other men will take but for me give me liberty or give me death. (hopefully liberty will come before death).

And that’s my take.

Bastiat1776

Advocate of Liberty

Leave a Reply

